GameSentral Rewind #060

Editor’s Note: This is the GameSentral Rewind, a daily recap of the top gaming headlines.

Gears of War 4 release date announced

Gears of War 4

Gears of War 4 will launch globally on October 11 as a Xbox One exclusive.

The game is set 25 years after the events of the original trilogy, and will take place over the course of “one night in the woods.”

From April 18, those who played Gears of War: Ultimate Edition will be able to participate in a beta of Gears 4’s multiplayer, with all Xbox Live Gold members able to join in on April 25. The beta will run until May 1.

Gears of War 4 will feature split-screen across all modes, and a gore and mature language filter.

Doom open beta, DLC announced

Doom

Id Software’s Doom reboot will receive an open beta starting April 15 at 12am ET (9pm PT April 14, 5am GMT), and ending on 11:59pm ET (8:59pm PT, 4:59am GMT April 18) on April 17.

Publisher Bethesda has also announced that the game will receive free DLC, plus three paid content packs after launch.

A code will not be required to join the multiplayer-focused beta. Players will be able to try out Team Deathmatch and Warpath modes on the Heatwave and Infernal maps.

Bethesda will be updating the multiplayer and user creation mode, SnapMap with free content, including new game modes, AI enhancements, and map modules.

Three paid DLC packs will be offered, each priced at $14.99 (£11.99, €14.99). The first has been vaguely detailed, and will include the following:

  • Three new maps
  • One new weapon
  • One new playable demon
  • One new armor set
  • One new piece of equipment
  • New hack modules and taunts
  • New customization colors and patterns

A Season Pass will be offered with all the paid content for $39.99 (£29.99, €39.99).

Doom will launch on Xbox One, PS4, and PC on May 13.

Donut Drake removed from Uncharted 4

Donut Drake

Plus-sized protagonist skin Donut Drake won’t appear in Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End.

In previous games, the overweight model could be unlocked. However, Naughty Dog decided to pull Donut from Uncharted 4.

“I didn’t want to have a laugh at someone’s expense. I thought we’d matured beyond that.”

-Neil Druckmann, Naughty Dog creative director

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End will launch on May 10 as a PlayStation 4 exclusive.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s